My SOP for creativity workshop

Posted: January 25, 2015 in Uncategorized

My school has been offered 4 spots for a highly competitive creativity workshop and it is open to the students of grades nine to eleven. So,in short it is uber competetive.I really hope that I get selected and below is the SOP that I wrote:

Statement Of Purpose

I’m Dhruv Krishnaswamy from class 9D and I would like  to take part in the creativity workshop by OnCourse Vantage because it would be an excellent opportunity to learn from the best plus it would open a new window for my creative aspirations.

Creativity is a strange thing.The times when you need it the most,it bails on you and at times when all you want to do is relax,you are bombarded by ideas of building crazy rockets,starting a business or writing unique blog posts.

As a student of ninth grade in India,I feel that our country does not place enough emphasis on developing the creativity of students,rather the system focuses more on rote memorisation and making students blindly copy facts.Teenagers like myself are often told to stick to the book and not think out of the box.But I ask Why?I’m not going to rant any more about how our country doesn’t encourage creative endeavours instead I’m going to tell you why I think I’m the right person for the creativity workshop.

The first reason being that I have a burning desire to learn more about creativity and I want to change the way our country views it.This workshop will help my imagination and creative side develop because I believe that only with creativity can innovation be possible and only innovation can take our country further .

Second,as an avid MUNer and debater I know how important creativity is to get your point across or to phrase an argument and hence this experience will teach me how creative thinking can help me win a debate or stand out at an MUN.

Lastly,I feel that a person like me who is bubbling with many ideas for websites,apps and services and is an avid blogger would benefit from this creative stint in my pursuit to become an entrepreneur.

In the end I really hope that I get to be a part of this learning experience so that I can develop wings of creativity which will help me soar high.

Leave a Reply

